Book Review: Dark Places by Gillian Flynn

Dark PlacesDark Places by Gillian Flynn

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

HOLY FREAKIN’ COW! Have you ever finished a murder mystery and thought… Hell yeah, that fraker took me on a ride! I have, a few times, and this was one of them. I loved the back and forth teasing way of writing as bits and pieces of the days were eked out. My mind also went back and forth thinking I had figured everything out to have another piece doled out to knock my thoughts askew.

Character-wise I think she did a brilliant job creating characters that were likabely unlikable — or maybe unlikabely likable? Either way, the characters were robust and visual. I just hope any upcoming movie about this doesn’t ruin how I already see them. Casting a Kristen Stewart type character to play the surly little redhead would make me cry.

When describing the book to my friend I mentioned that Gillian Flynn has the same sort of weird, demented, slightly scary mind that Stephen King does and I like it!

I can’t say I preferred this book over others Ms. Flynn has written. I have loved each in their own twisted way.

View all my reviews

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

