Wild Sausage and Baked Brussels Sprouts and Cauliflower

Aviary Photo_130340288894544427My friend Billy brought me some deer and wild hog sausage. I hadn’t cooked this type of sausage before and was told they can be a little dry if not cooked correctly, so I decided to cook them up with some baked Brussels sprouts and cauliflower mixed with coconut oil. As you probably expected, they turned out awesome!

Here is the recipe (note: my measurements may be a bit vague since I usually work by sight and what looks good to me, so use your best judgment!):

  • A 16oz bag of Brussels sprouts
  • 1/4 head of cauliflower.
  • 2 to 3 tablespoons of coconut oil
  • 2 large links of sausage (16oz total)
  • Salt and pepper to taste
Pre-heat over to 400 degrees F
First, slice the sausages into one inch pieces.  Cut off the ends from the Brussels sprouts, toss the ends away, and peel the couple of loose outer layers of leafs and put them aside (you will want to store them to make sprout chips later or mix into a stir fry). After that, cut the sprouts in half and put them in a large bowl with the sausage pieces. Chop the cauliflower into one inch pieces and put them in the bowl with the Brussels sprouts and sausage. Melt the coconut oil and pour over the veggies and meat and toss them around until they are fully covered. Spread the mixture out on a foil lined baking sheet making an even layer. Salt and pepper to taste.
Cook for around 30 minutes at 400 degrees F until the sprouts are slightly crispy. Check every 10 minutes and toss around with a spatula for even cooking (and less fire alarms going off). 
I also made this with a little Hot sauce mixed in (Buffalo Wild Wings Spicy Garlic) and it turned out even better (I didn’t think it was possible) with the added spice! I am currently obsessed with Brussels sprouts (this morning I tossed some of the leafs I had put aside into my egg scramble after sauteing them in a bit of coconut oil) and am always looking for more ways to cook with them.
Enhanced by Zemanta
One thought on “Wild Sausage and Baked Brussels Sprouts and Cauliflower

Leave a Reply

