How to smart talk to kids

20120824_203737I recently read this article about how when talking to little girls to speak to their mind and not their looks. I think it is a great article with tons of good advice, a lot of it I need to take myself! I also think a lot of this advice can be used to speak to boys. So many times I have pointed out to a little boy how strong he is if he picks up something or opens something by himself or how tough he is if he doesn’t cry over an injury. I am definitely guilty of doing this with my son (which would explain his HUGE ego). It would be better to start and continue a discussion about less shallow and stereotypical things. So let’s start boosting their self-esteem about their brilliant minds, rather than their color coordination or pretty eyes.

1st graderI can say that when I was teaching in Korea I did end up having a lot of conversations about video games and zombies with both boys and girls. And to my enjoyment none of the kids ever thought it was strange that both boys and girls liked discussing both of these.

Check out the original article below.

I went to a dinner party at a friend’s home last weekend, and met her five-year-old daughter for the first time. Little Maya was all curly brown hair, doe-like dark eyes, and adorable in her shiny pink nightgown. I wanted

via How to Talk to Little Girls.

Leave a Reply

