Getting ahead of the game

This was my original drawing of how I imagined ZK Jax by the end of the first book.

This was my original drawing of how I imagined ZK Jax by the end of the first book. he started off as a Smith. So glad I changed that!

I am thousand words ahead of my goal of writing a thousand words a day and have written just over 20,000 as of today on Friday the third of May (20,109 words according to Google docs). In my head this is a buffer in case something weird happens like being abducted by aliens, sucked up by a tornado, or losing use of my typing fingers for a day. Just normal everyday stuff that can happen. I just have to keep telling myself that doesn’t give me an excuse to slack off for a day, it’s a buffer! Buffer’s are used for emergencies.

I also think I am going to just write to 70k and not 100k like I originally thought for this book. All the info I have found says that 80-100k is just too long for a YA book. I can always add more detail if needed. That just gives me a lot more time to edit and have it complete by July 31st which is my main characters b-day, my sons b-day, J.K. Rowling’s b-day, Wesley Snipe’s b-day, and Harry Potter’s b-day. I am sure I missed a few other people who celebrate their b-day on that day as well.

I am a little worried I am not describing the characters enough so that people can ‘see’ what they look like. Or see what I want them to think they look like. I also am worried I am not describing the surroundings enough or giving my characters enough feelings. So many things I didn’t think about when I first put pencil to paper (fingers to keyboard). I figured I will get the basis of the story down and worry about all that feelings stuff later! Kind of like my real life. 🙂

Leave a Reply

