Photo Challenge – Day 21 – What you do

Day 21 – What you do: Do you go to school? Train elephants at the circus? Write at home? Play mum to your kids? Act as CEO to a big business? Paint in your spare time? Dance when no one is looking? Take a photo of what you do {something that makes you ‘you’} and share it.

Teaching Jellybean how to install a car stereo

Teaching Jellybean how to install a car stereo

Initially this was tough but the more I thought about it the more the answer became clear. Recently I installed a new stereo in my car. I could have bought one and had it installed, but why? It seems a relatively simple thing to do and I can learn something new along the way. So I did it and it works awesomely! So, what I learned is that what I do is learn and teach!

I am constantly looking up things. Even when watching a TV show I will be curious about a character or an actor and look up things about them. My friend Mandi jokes that she doesn’t even need a computer to look things up when I am around because before she is halfway done with the question I am looking it up and finding the answer. I love learning and if I was able to I would attend school for the rest of my life.

I am also a teacher. I like to impart my knowledge on people (usually when they ask or are interested, sometimes when they aren’t) when playing word games like Scrabble or Banagrams, people look to me on the final voice on if a word really exists or if a spelling is correct. When a computer needs to be fixed, a new stereo installed in a car, or a puzzle solved, I am on it. If I don’t know how to do something, I will find out.

It annoys me at times when people say they can’t do something simple like change the belt on a vacuum or refuse to do something when it is something they could do themselves if they just looked it up! It’s different if it is just a convenience thing. Like I know I could change the oil in my car, but sometimes it is just easier, or more convenient to have someone else do it.

One of my favorite things about teaching in Asia was that I was constantly learning. Almost everyday during a class  I would stop and think, huh, I didn’t know that, how cool! You learn something new everyday! Learning is awesome and teaching is cool because if you do it right, you will continue to learn things.

Leave a Reply

