The End of the Line

 

Every time I come back from somewhere on the subway I always know to get on the train heading toward Oido. The voice on the subway always pleasantly reminds me that this is the train that ends at Oido. I had never traveled to this magical place called Oido located at the end of the line… but I was determined to get there before I left. So last week during our week vacation, Mandi and I took the train to the end of the line.

After getting on the subway we hopped on the bus that was to take us to the shore so we could hang out in the sun near the water. But as the fates would have it, we hopped on the bus that took us back toward home. Oops. After traveling a bit we got off the bus and got on the right one and made it to the shore.

It was blazing hot and humid outside and we could only walk along the seawall and not get near the water. We last about eight minutes before deciding that we had seen enough. So Oido didn’t turn out to be the magical place I had imagined. I did not end up frolicking through the waves and pristine beaches as I thought I would. I did not partake in bountiful buffets of seafood either. It was actually rather depressing.

Oh well. At least I got to check off another item on my “places I want to see, things I want to do, before I leave Korea”. Next stop…. temple stay. And then there is Kimchi making, DMZ touring, and Everland.

I am almost done with you, Korea!

Leave a Reply

