Week Two

Patience is the art of concealing your impatience. — Guy Kawasaki 

This is how I have been feeling this week. I am so impatient to get things rolling but I feel like I am doing a good job at keeping it hidden. I haven’t told anyone I work with (since I am a contract employee and I want to save up as much money as I can before I leave!) and only a couple friends about my plans, but since I have been giving away things like books I might have to soon so they don’t think I am getting rid of my worldly belongings to end my life! But seriously, most of the people I care about I have already told, the other are so self-centered they probably don’t even notice!

First things first. I finished a hat using the holiday yarn I got on sale. It turned out awesome! It is gray with shimmer in it and I added a sparkly button on it. I did the whole thing freehand without a pattern and am very pleased with the results.

Back to about what I said about giving away books. I gave away a large bag of Stephen King books to a co-worker. Yes, my Stephen King books I have been collecting since I was a teenager. But I really didn’t want to continue to lug these books around since most of them are hardcover books. I hope to eventually have all my books digitized.

Speaking of digitized… I bought  Nook! I knew I wanted an e-reader and it was going to be a Solstice present for me, just a little late. I was torn between the Kindle and Nook, but eventually decided on the Nook since I could put library books on it and I love free books 🙂 Plus the name Nook is so cute. 🙂

And then on the flip side of that. I stopped at the library to look at books on Korea and grabbed two of them. The book about Seoul has some cool things like a list of things you can do with cell phones there like, watch TV, turn on your heat or light in your apartment via your phone, buy snacks or pay transit affairs, and even send someone a gift. I guess the whole city is hooked up to the Internet, you can get a signal in the subway or on top of a mountain. Pretty cool! The title of it is Seoul Book of Everything and it was published last year, so it is up-to-date and has some awesome thing. I think I am going to go ahead and buy it because it will be very useful!

I also received emails back from two of my former professors I had requested reference letters from. I don’t know if I will need these letters but it doesn’t hurt to have them! And I have been doing a lot of researching, sending emails, and discussing with Renee about how to get my darn degrees notarized/apostilled. Who would have thought so much research would be needed to get a stamp on a piece of paper!

Oh yeah and I have lost five pounds so far since the beginning of the year. Woo hoo! My plan of tracking every single thing I have eaten is working! 🙂 I know I will lose weight while I am in Korea, but I want to at least lose 20 pounds before I go! 15 to go 🙂

4 thoughts on “Week Two

  1. Great job!! So excited for you & your action!!Sorry I didn't get to see you on the weekend – when are you going to come up? You are welcome anytime!!

Leave a Reply

